Connect with us

General

What Does the Lock Mean on Snapchat?

Published

on

In Covid-19 pandemic, we saw and observed that many people turned to social media to pass their time. Plentiful people found social media a means to stay connected with their relatives and friends. This makes the people join those apps that they have never done before. But this also makes them confused about some icons and symbols that were being used in these apps.

 Snapchat always provides a platform to share content with multiple users at the same time. To do this, the platform gives an option to hang up who can see your content by creating private Snapchat stories. Stories are known to be a great format to share the memorable moments of your life with your friends, relatives, followers, or to whom you want to be. To make your story not visible to everybody Snapchat provides a lock feature to make your story privately visible. On this page, we will discuss what does lock mean on Snapchat and topics related to Snapchat stories. Read on to know more.


What Does the Lock Mean on Snapchat?



Many peoples are still not aware of what the lock symbol on Snapchat means, so we are here to make you an expert on this.

The lock symbol appearing next to any Snapchat story, states that the specific story is private. This feature has been already introduced in Snapchat for a very long time that permits the users to share their stories only with a few people they want.

This lock symbol ensures the user that their story must be hidden from the people with whom they don’t want to share their story. This feature on the other hand proved to be a helping hand to set apart the list of their contacts and choose which person gets to see which story they shared. This feature works really the same as that of Instagram’s close friend feature.

Important Note:

If you think that the lock symbol on someone’s story makes you feel that their story is hidden from you, then you are wrong. Actually, it is completely contradictory, as if you can see a lock symbol on anybody’s Snapchat story that means you are one of their close friends with whom they are sharing their particular story.


Different Types of Snapchat Stories


Everybody here knows effectively what a story is or what is a Snapchat story? But if you are new to Snapchat, then the thing that might distract you is a different type of Snapchat story. So if you want that your story would not be shared with the wrong people by mistake, you should know the main facts about the stories on Snapchat.

Types of Snapchat Stories

Mainly there are three types of Snapchat stories.

  1. My stories: These stories are the default stories that are created whenever you add your snaps using the Story button on your main screen. These types of stories can be noticed by your friends only on Snapchat.
  2. Public Stories: These are the stories that can be viewed by any Snapchat user when they choose the particular location of where you have posted the story on Snap Map. You can easily set up your all stories to show publically in the Snapchat settings.
  3. Private Stories: These types of stories are viewed only by the people that are manually selected by us on Snapchat. No other than those are able to access your private stories.  

Other Types of Stories on Snapchat                         

Apart from the above three main types of stories on Snapchat, there are some collective stories called Our story and Campus story which are basically Public stories that are location-oriented. Our story includes the stories or the snaps that are being uploaded in your neighbourhood. Just go to Snap Map and find different stories that are being shared by people in various locations. Campus stories are just a type of our story but are campus-oriented. In this type of story, if you visited campus in the last 24 hours, it will be highlighted on your Snap Map. It works well to bring the community of students together.


How to Make a Private Story on Snapchat?


In Snapchat whenever you add a snap or record a video to make your story, it is by default visible to all of your friends on Snapchat. But if you want to restrict the number of friends who can see your snaps or videos that are added to it, then you have to make your story private. So if you want to know how to make a private story on Snapchat, please follow the steps mentioned below-

  1. Take out your phone and open Snapchat app.
  2. Select your profile icon, if you want to make a private story on Snapchat.
  3. Select the “+custom story” icon.
  4. Then please select “private story” from the drop-down menu.
  5. After it creates your private story and chooses the number of friends you want to share it with.

Synopsis

Stories on Snapchat can be real fun if shared with real friends or people, but if you want to save it from the wrong people, then you have to make your story private. Also, you can lock a story on Snapchat if you want to share it with some specific friends. If you did not try it till now go and get it done.

Olivia loves writing blogs, and that is what took her to BeingTricks to share her words out there online. She is pretty much interested in writing Dating and relationship-related blogs. She has been a dating coach, and now, she is sharing her experience online. Sometimes, She writes tech how-to guides as well.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Trending